Somersetmade Ltd
please visit our sponsors


all you ever wanted to know about Adge Cutler & The Wurzels

Menu Script home

please visit our sponsors

The Wurzels and Adge Cutler Discography

The Wurzels Collection
The Wurzels

HMV Easy 7243 5 32071 2 0

Release Date: 9th April 2001

Following the success of the Finest 'Arvest Of The Wurzels CD, record retailer HMV negotiated with EMI to issue this compilation of tracks by The Wurzels as part of their HMV Easy series of CDs, only available through HMV record stores, or via HMV online. This compilation is made up of tracks from The Wurzels (the post-Adge Cutler band of the 1970s) - although Adge's version of Ferry To Glastonbury has been included instead of The Wurzels' later version.

The Wurzelmania! website was able to advise on track selection, and the CD contains some very rare and sought-after tracks (such as Wurzel Rock, Don Juan Of The West and the legendary "disco" version of Drink Up Thy Zider), as well as a few favourites much requested by fans (One For The Bristol City, Haggis Farewell and Captain Of The Dredger, among others).

For the benefit of Wurzelmaniacs the overlap between this and previous compilations has been minimised, although a collection of this nature inevitably has to include the big hits! The CD's sleeve notes are again by Paul Gunningham, a leading Wurzologist and a fonder of the Scrumpy & Western website.

The CD was deleted in 2004 (or thereabouts), and has since become somewhat of a collectors item; however the album was re-released on Download in 2008 ensuring that these rarer tracks are still available.

  1. I Am A Cider Drinker
  2. The Combine Harvester
  3. Drink Up Thy Zider (disco version)
  4. The Blackbird
  5. Drink, Drink Yer Zider Up
  6. One For The Bristol City
  7. Cabot Song (Big 'Ead)
  8. Look At 'Ee Lookin' At I
  9. Captain Of A Dredger
  10. Let There Not Be Light
  11. My Somerset Crumpet Horn
  12. Don Juan Of The West
  13. Mevagissey
  14. Farmer Jonesie's Travellin' Disco Show
  15. Funky Farmyard
  16. Wurzel Rock
  17. Give Me England!
  18. Who Put The Bomp (In The Bomp, Bomp, Bomp)?
  19. Ferry To Glastonbury
  20. Haggis Farewell
  21. Middle For Diddle
  22. Pheasant Plucker's Son
  23. Springtime
  24. The Tractor Song (Pushbike Song)

The Wurzels Collection

CD front sleeve

The Wurzels Collection

CD front sleeve

The Wurzels Collection

CD front sleeve

The Wurzels Collection
The Wurzels Collection

Top  to top of this page

website created by somersetmade ltd (c) 2007; content by Paul Gunningham (c) 1999-2007